RUFORUM Annual General Meeting 2017 to be held 26th-28th October, 2017 in Lilongwe, Malawi

Bingu International Conference Centre, venue for the RUFORUM Annual General Meeting. Photo Credit: BICC

RUFORUM is pleased to announce its 13th Annual General Meeting (AGM) to be held 26th-28th October 2017 at the Bingu International Conference Centre in Lilongwe, Malawi. The AGM will be hosted by the Government of Malawi and RUFORUM member universities in Malawi. His Excellency, Prof. Arthur Peter Mutharika, the President of the Republic of Malawi will be the guest of honour for the event.

Participation at the Annual General Meeting is expected from the 66 Vice Chancellors of member universities, over 80 Deans and Principals, university staff and key stakeholders. The RUFORUM AGM is the overarching organ of the RUFORUM network that meets annually to review the previous year’s activities approve RUFORUM Secretariat activities for the running fiscal year; 2017/18 in this case. Other RUFORUM Governance Organs (the Board and its committees) will also meet during the AGM. For example, the RUFORUM Deans and Principals will meet to share experiences and lessons from there training and research activities.

RUFORUM will also recognise higher education achievers through the IMPRESSA Awards and outstanding farmers. The IMPRESSA Awards recognize outstanding university scientists making significant contribution in agricultural Research and Science for Development in Africa. Nominations will close on the 31st July, 2017.

Click here to download the full press release: RUFORUM Press Release_AGM2017

Call for Postgraduate students admission for 2017/2018: LUANAR

Bunda Campus
Africa Centre of Excellence in Aquaculture and Fisheries Science (AquaFish)

World Bank (WB) has embarked on a project which is called Africa Centre of Excellence (ACE II) whose aim is to strengthen selected Eastern and Southern Africa higher education institutions to deliver quality postgraduate education and build collaborative research capacity in the regional priority areas clustered as follows: Industry, Agriculture, Health, Education and Applied Statistics.

Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources (LUANAR) in Malawi, is hosting the Africa Centre of Excellence in Aquaculture and Fisheries Science (AquaFish) whose main objective is “to foster innovation and entrepreneurship in the production of high skilled fit-for-purpose critical mass of agricultural scientists for improved aquaculture and fisheries management in order to enhance food, nutrition and economic security in Eastern and Southern Africa”. Specifically, the AquaFish intends to achieve the following, a) train critical mass of MSc and PhD graduates who are competent to create innovations that will revolutionize the aquaculture and fisheries sector in Africa, b) enhance capacity of the center of excellence to attract national and regional students and train world class scientists that are relevant to industrial and developmental needs in the aquaculture and fisheries sector in Africa, and c) Improve innovations/technologies for increasing fish production, value addition and marketing, through partnerships.

The centre is employing innovative, entrepreneurial and multidisciplinary approaches to training, research and outreach on production, value addition and fisheries management, through strategic partnerships. AquaFish Centre builds on LUANAR’s track record of serving as a regional training centre in aquaculture and fisheries science for Africa including Southern Africa Development Community (SADC), as evidenced by hosting the AU-Aquaculture Working Group, NEPAD SanBio Fish Node, Afri-fish Net. AquaFish intends to undertake the project holistically by looking at the whole Fish value chain, hence a multidisciplinary approach. Read more.

New Publication: Top Eight Young Innovators and Entrepreneurs from Malawi


RUFORUM recognizes the need for greater youth participation in enterprise development and business incubation and through its member universities and partners has supported training and skills development in this respect. It has also supported start-ups through innovative financing mechanism of the revolving fund implemented in some member universities.

RUFORUM believes in youth entrepreneurship as the game changer in ensuring greater youth participation and integration into the economic growth at national and regional levels and for youth employment. We bring you a new publication focusing on the top nine Innovators and Entrepreneurs from Malawi. Click here to download the publication.

MUST: A university aligned to national aspirations


By James Mphande, Communications Manager

That Malawi has predominantly been an importing and consuming nation is well documented and it is sad. The goodness is that Government has finally decided to do something to make the country a predominantly producing and exporting nation.

And looking at the majority of countries at the centre of production, manufacturing and export, one thing is clear: They have embraced and are utilising science and technology. For Malawi, this means it too has to take the same root.

But first things, first. Malawi needs to develop knowledge and skills in science and technology with a focus on innovation and entrepreneurship so that when industries are opened, there is a steady flow of human resources to transform raw materials into technologically inspired usable commodities and items.

This is probably where Malawi’s fourth public university comes in. The Malawi University of Science and Technology (MUST) was established by an Act of Parliament No. 31 of 2012 with the aim of promoting the development, adaptation, transfer and application of science, technology and innovation for macro- and micro-economic development of Malawi.

Its vision is to be a world class centre of science and technology education, research and entrepreneurship which is being realised through the provision of conducive environment for quality education, training, research, and entrepreneurship, and outreach activities.

Officially opened on October 24, 2014, when fully operational MUST will have four schools i.e. the Malawi Institute of Technology (MIT), Ndata School of Climate and Earth Sciences (NSCES), Academy of Medical Sciences (AMS), and, Bingu School of Culture and Heritage (BSCH) to be led by Executive Deans.

Continue reading